Before and After – Dinner in 25 minutes – Pork Chops and Smashed Potatoes


BEFORE: Boneless pork chops and mini potatoes
BEFORE: Boneless pork chops and mini potatoes

Before and After, you see it everywhere.  Usually women and girls are the targets but as advertisers are realizing the huge uptaped male market I have been noticing more ads or articles aimed at the new “After” men.

So when I was thinking about making dinner tonight after a sweaty session of hot yoga and not wanting to put forth too much effort (really I just wanted a takeout burger and fries but yoga is supposed to help you find your ‘better enlightened you’ so I struggled with my internal demons and won.  Really my legs were wobbly and I wasn’t sure I could keep my foot on the gas pedal much longer) so I put together this tasty and especially fast dinner (but I must not tell a lie….a little Cadbury Bubble Chocolate bar was dessert).  Seriously, it was on the table before you would have had time to drive somewhere for a quick take out.  Think of the money and time you saved using just a few items you most likely have already in your house.  (Makes you feel virtuous, doesn’t it.)

AFTER: Seasoned chops and Smashed potatoes
AFTER: Seasoned chops and Smashed potatoes

It was my own version of before and after…hot yoga hasn’t worked its magic on me, yet..still trying to get to the after.  And I think the after looks pretty good, the food I mean. Not like Bruce Jenner‘s after…he looks like he’s undergoing a facial transformation to be prettier than Kris.  And really, shouldn’t the After’s in the magazines be titled “EVEN BETTER THAN BEFORE”.  Most of the after’s look younger and better than they did before.  Look at Cher…did she ever really look like that even at 30; Jodie Foster has a prettier, softer look now at 50 than in her younger years; and Chris Harrison, host of the Bachelor, seems to have an ever increasing thicker head of hair today than as his first season as host.

Not that I wouldn’t do the same if I was earning those million dollar paychecks but who do they think they are kidding.  Christie Brinkley is 59 and she and her 15 year old daughter look similar. With all the stress of her numerous marriages and divorces shouldn’t she have at least a token crinkle? I think her older daughter (papa is Billy Joel) actually has a couple of smile lines.  That must really mess with your head!  Even 91 year old  Betty White seems to look incredible.

O.K. back to dinner.  There are no measurements for me to list just a little talk through if you are interested.

I put a thin layer of Dijon mustard on the top of the chops.  In a small bowl I mixed some bread crumbs (about 1/3 cup) with a little olive oil and mixed it together then threw in a little onion powder and a little salt.  On top of the Dijon I layered this crumb coating and placed the pork chops into a pan sprayed with Pam.

Preheat the oven to 350F

While prepping the pork chops I tossed the potatoes into the microwave for about 5 minutes.  When done I layed them onto a cookie sheet and flattened with a fork.  Drizzle with olive oil, garlic powder and a generous amount of salt.

Bake both items in oven at same time for approximately 20 minutes.  Add a colourful veg to your plate for eye appeal and to increase your fiber and vitamin consumption for the day.

I hope you give this a try and please send me a comment anytime.

Leave a Reply

