Peanut Butter S’mores Cookie Bars and What’s with the knee socks?


Everywhere I look I see recipes and pics of cookie bars (and those horrible knee socks but I will get to that).  What’s a cookie bar…well in my opinion, its just an easier way to make a cookie.  Less labour intense.  Instead of going to the bother to drop your cookie dough onto the pan in individual amounts, scooping as you go, you just pat your dough into a pan and bake.  Then you get to cut a ‘cookie’ as big or small as you want.

Peanut Butter S'mores Cookie Bars
Peanut Butter S’mores Cookie Bars

While most of the recipes I see are for S’mores (Americans have an obsession with these) or chocolate chip bars I was craving a peanut butter butterscotch hit so I modified a recipe I found in SweetGifts magazine from 2012.

Ingredients for cookie bars
Ingredients all lined up and ready to mix.

So before I share tonights recipe I need to comment… what’s with those knee socks I see adults and kids alike wearing with their shorts, sandals and exercise gear.  If your doctor told you to purchase and wear support hose you would never do it but that is what these unstylish socks look like to me. You know the socks I mean, right. Remember Linda Ronstandt wearing knee socks with her shorts and roller skates in the 80’s.  Are they back in style?  I must have missed the memo.

O.K. I know fashion comes and goes and I have for sure been a victim!  If anyone had told me shiny dance leotards with matching shiny tights and leg warmers where in no shape or form flattering or the least bit cool (both in style and temperature) to wear while doing high impact aerobics I and all my friends would have scoffed.

Haven’t you been telling your dad and husband for years not to go out of the house with socks in his sandals.  It is soooo embarrasing.  Yet all over I see runners, walkers, and not so sporty people wearing these support style looking white knee socks with their shorts and, heaven forbid, with their sloppily fitting shower sandals.  If you are a 12-14 year old girl you can carry it off but otherwise just let this fad go.  Sooner rather than later, please. Ahh, as always I feel better with my thoughts off my chest.  So on to the recipe.

This is a very sweet treat so adjust your add-ins to make it how you like it.  Use chocolate chips with the butterscotch chips and eliminate the pb cups if you wish.

Butter, brown & white sugar, eggs, vanilla mixed
Butter, sugars, eggs, vanilla mixed together

Peanut Butter Butterscotch S’mores Cookie Bars

Preheat oven to 375F.  Lightly grease a 13 x 9 pan.

10 tablespoons butter, room temperature

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons pure vanilla

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1 cup mini marshmallows

1-2 cups peanut butter cups (rough chopped)

1 cup butterscotch chips

Butterscotch chips, peanut butter mini cups added in and ready to fold in
Butterscotch chips, peanut butter mini cups ready to fold in.

Cream the butter and sugars together with an electric mixer in a large bowl.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined.  In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda.  Add the flour mixture to creamed mixture and blend.  Fold in graham crackers, butterscotch chips and 1 cup peanut butter cups.

Press dough into prepared pan and bake for approximately 10 minutes.  Now sprinkle marshmallows and remaining peanut butter cups onto top and bake for an additional 5-7 minutes.

Cool completely and cut into generous pieces and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

