Hummingbird Blondies & The Upside of Memory Loss


Baked to Perfection Blondies
Baked to Perfection Blondies

As I have confessed in previous blogs I am addicted to several things, one being new and shiny baking books.  This week I was shopping  HomeSense near the aisle’s full of brightly coloured dishes, pretty containers of Easter sprinkles and pastel coloured cupcake liners, when a baking book caught my eye.  New and unspoiled with a little black hummingbird on the cover and some artfully arranged cupcakes on the cover.

Oh! Ah! A few simple sweet recipes worth trying out.  Hmmm, a faint memory, I think I’ve seen these yummy photos before.  So needless to say today’s recipe is courtesy of my copy (the one I had purchased several years ago) of  The Hummingbird Baking Book.  Blondies-the white chocolate version of a Brownie.  Easy, simple and no mixer required.

So how can my current memory lapses have an upside.  Well it is like the cloud with the silver lining.  So many books and shows are new again.  Just like the baking book.  Opening it up each time is a new experience.  So I’m saving money by not having to buy something new!  Then there are all the Law and Order episodes and Criminal Minds I get to watch again and again and again.  I recognize the plot, recall some of the facts while the endings are a surprise each time!  No need to erase the episodes from the PVR .  Just wait a few days and voila! it’s a  new show again.

Blondies

What I don’t understand is how I recall things like Bobby Sherman and David Soul playing in a show called Here Come the Brides way back when. Before David Soul became a star and heartthrob playing in Starksy and Hutch.  I did have to toss my love for Bobby Sherman aside when David Cassidy hit the scene in “The Partridge Family”.  Totally useless information I know, but why can I remember all these details but cannot remember my mental grocery list if it has more than 3 items on it.  Oh well, something to ponder another day when I recall it is a bit of an issue.

So let’s go onto the Blondie recipe for today.  I used 5 oz of good quality white chocolate for this recipe but you can use white chocolate chips or chopped white chocolate.  Just remember white chocolate is very fragile and you need to make sure you melt it over a low heat and stir it until smooth.  If it seizes up chances are it is burnt and will need to be tossed.

Blondies

5 oz. white chocolate

1/2 cup unsalted butter

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

pinch of salt

1 cup of pecans, chopped

Preheat oven to 325F.  Grease and line an 8 x 8-inch square pan.

Melt chocolate and sugar in large bowl over a pot of simmering water.  Stir until melted and smooth.  Remove from heat and let sit for a few minutes.

Add in the sugar and stir until well blended.  Add in the eggs and mix well, then add in the vanilla.  Add in the flour and the salt and mix until combined.  Fold in the pecans.  Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown and the centre is still soft.

Blondies ready to share!
Blondies ready to share!
One Comment Add yours

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Wow! What a stunning looking bake ! =)

Leave a Reply

