Bite Me, oh baby, Bite Me More


Julie Albert & Lisa Gnat Great Cook Book
Julie Albert & Lisa Gnat
Great Cook Book

NO, I have not turned into one of those Vampire Groupies nor do I normally hurl out “Bite Me” to annoying people, although I must admit the thought has crossed my mind on more than one occasion. Today began great with a kind stranger ahead of me at McDee’s paying for my coffee…I really thought this was an urban legend but lo and behold, it is fact…but what if you want to surprise the person in the car behind you and their order is, like $12 and you only ordered a coffee which was $1.65, so then you change your mind and tell the cashier to forget it, then you feel cheap, so your good deed has now made you feel lousy…hmmm

Oh well, back to the topic at hand, cupcakes.  My lemonade cupcakes from the Bite Me Too cookbook turned out amazing and were incredibly delicious even when naked – the cupcake, not me, OK .  (Thought eating the cupcake before the icing would save me calories but I was just fooling myself as the icing tasted soooo good I had to sample a finished product, meaning self control 0/cupcakes 2.)

Take a Bite out of This!
Take a Bite out of This!

This Windows 8, the most frustrating program ever, is what is making me have an OMG You Must Be Kidding Me ‘Bite Me’ moment now. But as I have mentioned many times, a cup of tea and a sweet (I have stopped counting now as I am sure frustration burns many calories and at the same time firms and tones the butt offsetting any overindulgences), such as a moist, light, lemon tasting cupcake topped with a pink swirl of buttery icing can turn you around like nothing else.

I found the recipe at Bitememore.com and after seeing the recipe went looking for the 2 cookbooks by Julie Albert and her sister Lisa Gnat I had purchased several years ago.  (I don’t need to go into my over abundance of cookbooks and magazines again, do I?!)

Anyway, I re-discovered their great and tasty recipes.  These sisters from Toronto have put out Bite Me and Bite Me Too, with chapters like ‘Grab Me’, ‘Catch Me’ and ‘Join Me’, lots of tips and great photos.  Give their Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons a try sometime.

And take a minute to check out their blog at bitememore.wordpress.com.

A couple of tips for today’s offering, if you don’t have buttermilk use sour mik (add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to a 1 cup liquid measure and fill with milk, let sit for 5 minutes), make sure all your ingredients are at room temperature and use real vanilla.

The sisters have a lemonade cream cheese icing to go with these cupcakes but I used butter, icing sugar, a little vanilla and a little whipping cream along with some pink food colouring and a few sprinkles.

So for today’s Pink Lemonade Cupcakes you will need:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tbsp. lemon zest

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup pink lemonade concentrate

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350F  Line 24 muffin tins with liners

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, lemon zest, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Beat in eggs one at a time.  Mix in vanilla and pink lemonade concentrate.  On low speed, alternate adding flour mixture and buttermilk to creamed mixture.  Starting with the addition of flour mixture, then buttermilk, then flour, then buttermilk then remainder of the flour.

Mix until just combined.  Fill prepared muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 20-22 minutes.  Tops will spring back lightly when touched and a toothpick inserted into the middle will come out clean.

Lemonade Cupcakes with a pretty in pink swirl.
Lemonade Cupcakes with a pretty in pink swirl.
One Comment Add yours

  1. christopherjpires says:

    I was actually thinking 50 Shades… 🙂 Gotta try these… Cheers Chris

    Thanks Chris foodinspires.com chris@foodinspires.com 416.301.9390

    >

Leave a Reply

