The Experts Say What?!…I Say have a Scone


Scones with Orange Zest and Toffee Bits 2 Scones with Orange Zest and Toffee Bits

They say, you know those experts, the ones who meet somewhere, sometime, before the beginning of every year, probably 6 months before the onset of the new year, or how else could everything be manufactured to their specifications and ready for consumer purchase, that honeyed alcohol drinks are in for 2015.   As is the return of Gin and Gin based drinks and restaurants are going to be more environmentally conscious by making you order way ahead so they waste less food and all sorts of other things including “hive to table” products like insect-based flours, which I have already seen on the Food Network!

OK, I think I getting ahead of myself.

First let me say sugar and spice and all baked things are nice no matter what “THEY” say!  And probably costs much less than purchasing many of what the experts in fashion, food and design would have us think.

So I’m looking at some cake decorating pics and I see the Wilton Colour for this year is this sort of brown and burgundy mix.  Very nice on white fondant but I wouldn’t think it would be popular with most.  Then I see the Pantone Colour for 2015 is Marsala.  According to Leatrice Eiseman, Executive Director of the Pantone Color Institute, “Marsala is a subtly seductive shade, one that draws us in to its embracing warmth.”  Have you ever heard such rubbish.  Have you every looked down at your plate of Veal Marsala (marsala is the same red/brown colour as the wine) and think to yourself, Oww, I would just die for a sweater in this shade or I hope my next couch is just like this.  It is so deliciously sexy I must go home and paint my walls this same shade!

Suddenly Marsala is everywhere, nail polish, shoes, pillows, paint, why Sephora already has its Marsala Metalshine Liquid Liner ready for us to purchase.  Then I hear silver is passe…oh, oh, does Silpada know?!  Now remember these Pantone experts are the same people who told us last year was Radiant Orchid and 2013 was Monaco Blue and are probably the same experts who told our parents Harvest Gold and Avocado Green were in and to purchase fridges and stoves and carpets that would last for decades.

I’m still trying to catch up to 2010 colour palette of Turquoise Tranquility and I only last year purchased silver accessories and I really hate Gin and I don’t think I can eat any more Kale and I’m not sure I need the ancient grain of Freekeh in my diet.

Who are these people and why do we care what they say.  The egg industry is still recovering for the experts telling everyone not to eat more that 3 eggs per week due to their cholesterol.  Then the experts realized most cholesterol is manufactured in our bodies.  And it seems to me these experts told us to reduce our coffee intake then either the same or another group of experts told us about the antioxidants and the other health benefits of consuming several cups a day. I think if I look hard enough I can find a pair of leg warmers, brilliant blue eyeshadow and a blouse with shoulder pads fit for a linebacker the fashion experts told me I must have from way back when!

My point of all this you ask?!  No point really.  Just think we should stop buying into all this stuff these “experts” we know nothing about convince us we need.

In my expert opinion all you need is some butter, sugar and flour with a few more add ins and your good to go.  It doesn’t matter what colour or style of clothing your wearing or whether you have on last year’s silver accessories when you bake up these yummy, light and delicious scones.  The experts most likely won’t be around to see.  They’re probably working on next years trends!

Scones with Orange Zest and Toffee Bits

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment.

In a large bowl combine:

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

zest from 1 large orange

1/2 cup toffee bits

Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, orange zest and toffee bits
Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, orange zest and toffee bits

Cut in 1/2 cup cold unsalted butter cut into small pieces using a pastry blender or your fingertips until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Stir in 1/4 cup cream and 1 large egg using a fork. Mix until blended.

On a lightly floured surface roll out dough until about 1 1/2 inches thick.  Cut out with round cookie cutter and reroll scraps. Place scones about 2 inches apart on prepared pan.  Sprinkle with more toffee bits or some coarse brown sugar.

Ready to bake, sprinkled with toffee bits
Ready to bake, sprinkled with toffee bits

Bake for about 15 minutes.  Let sit for about 10 minutes and remove from pan.  Enjoy.

Scones with Orange Zest and Toffee Bits
Scones with Orange Zest and Toffee Bits
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Chris says:

    Too funny, too true! Flour, butter, eggs, sugar – a better world!

  2. Nada says:

    Good read for a lazy Sunday morning, made me smile……….and the “experts” might say these perfectly heartshaped scones would be perfect for Valentines 😉 especially if you find a “marsala” colored plate to serve them on….

    1. hofferbunch says:

      Well I just finished eating one and they are still satisfying the next day. A trip down the street to your Winners will surely find you some Marsala coloured plates, maybe shoes too!

  3. Shona says:

    I LOVE your blog! Your comments are right on the mark! You say what we all think!!

    1. hofferbunch says:

      Thanks. As you know there is always a lot swirling around in my mind!

Leave a Reply

