Happy Easter – Delicious Sugar Cookies


Happy Easter to all!  This week I baked up a few fun Easter cookies and thought I’d share the very delicious recipe.

Fun and Yum!
Fun and Yum!

I have posted a sugar cookie recipe in the past but this is my new favourite.  This recipe comes from Canadian icon Bonnie Stern and her book Bonnie Stern’s Essentials of Home Cooking.  The only thing I changed up was using 1/2 less flour then called for and I used a full teaspoon of vanilla as I like the taste.  I topped these with fondant I cut out in corresponding shapes.

Crazed Bunnies anyone?
Crazed Bunnies anyone?

A great way to attach the fondant to the cookies is to lay the cut out fondant onto warm cookies and smooth.  The fondant adheres beautifully.  Another tip – if you bake you cookies earlier an easy way to attach the fondant is to smooth a little corn syrup onto the cookie surface and lay the fondant on.

Sugar Cookies – approx. 15 cookies if using 3-inch cutter

Preheat oven to 375F.  Grease or parchment line 1 large cookie sheets.

1/2 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

In a large mixing bowl cream butter.  Add sugar, beating until light and fluffy.

Add egg and vanilla.  Mix well.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.  Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture and blend well.

Divide dough in half and roll one half out to about 1/8-inch thick on a lightly floured surface.  Cut out with assorted cookie cutter.  Place cookies about 2 inches apart on prepared sheets.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Cool cookies and decorate as you like.

Coming soon…..

Pigs in Mud....
Pigs in Mud….
3 Comments Add yours

  1. kknipp12 says:

    Marbled fondant is one of my favorite decorations! These are adorable and would be so fun to do with children. Can you attach the fondant to the cookies with gum glue? I’ve never used it on cookies.

    1. hofferbunch says:

      Hi, I have never used gum glue but you could simply use a little water and a paint brush or your fingertip to spread a little on the back of the fondant to adhere it. Thank you for dropping by my blog!

  2. Chris says:

    I love both, but the pigs in mud… so cute!

Leave a Reply

