Toffee Chocolate Biscotti


Toffee Chocolate Biscotti, with some white chocolate drizzle
Toffee Chocolate Biscotti, with some white chocolate drizzle

Have you heard…colouring is good for you!  Not colouring your hair although I think that ranks up there with being good for you as well, but coloring pictures, just like when you were a kid.

But there is a catch, oh course, as nothing is ever as simple as it first appears.

Apparently colouring ranks up there with meditation.  Calming, soothing and a positive activity.  How easy, how simple….another trend posted on Facebook I can get behind.  Maybe this will calm my racing mind before bed or help me unwind.  Off I go to the dollar store for my Crayola big book and a set of crayons.

My Crayola Colouring Book
My Crayola Colouring Book

Uh oh, I guess I should have read the fine print.  Colouring simple pictures of whales blowing bubbles or seals balancing balls on their noses is not good enough.  No, No!  You must colour and shade intricate patterns, pictures worthy of framing.  What? Who decided this!

The colouring books at Chapters are for adults or perhaps advanced kids but definitely not for me. They contain drawings with thousand of little  spaces to be coloured in precisely. How is this calming!  I barely passed kindergarten and my paintings or drawings were never displayed on the limited space on the wall in school.  Geez, I remember my dad asking where was my picture during a school visit.

image

Please,  please, don’t make me relive grade school, or middle school or, heaven forbid grade 9 art and trying to model a blob of Clay…while everyone manipulated their clay into interesting objects, I put 3 holes in the top and it became the ugliest pencil holder ever and I think I failed that portion of the class.

But I’m an adult and will work through some of my childhood issues of feeling inferior in the artistic category (all other issues will need more time to be tackled) and I will finish my pic of bubba the Bulaga whale and will tape it to my own fridge.

But really if you want to feel calm and get into the zone bake up something you can enjoy almost immediately.  My pick for today, these simple and easy biscotti.  You probably have all you need on hand and can whip them up quicker than an adult colouring page.

Simple, delicious and adaptable to the add-ins you have on hand, this biscotti is a good go to recipe to keep at the ready.

image

Toffee Chocolate Chip Biscotti
Toffee Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Preheat oven to 350F

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

3 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup toffee bits

1/2 cup (or more) mini chocolate chips

Combine, in a large bowl, the flour, baking powder and salt.

In bowl of electric mixer beat butter with sugars until fluffy.  Add in eggs one at a time and mix in well, scraping down bowl after each addition.  Mix in vanilla.

On low speed, add in flour mixture, making sure to combine well.  Stir in toffee bits and chocolate chips.

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and divide in two.  Shape each portion into a log about 12 inches long.  Flatten to 1/2 inch thick.  Reshape along edges to get a neat rectangular shape.

Leave about 3-4 inches between the doughs as they expand during baking.  Use 2 lined baking sheets if they are a smaller size.  Bake until golden around edges, about 25 minutes, and remove from oven.

Cool for 15-20 minutes then using serrated knife slice into 1-inch pieces.  Lay flat on one cut edge and return to oven and bake for another 10 minutes.  Flip over to other side and bake for another 5-15 minutes, depending how dry you prefer your biscotti.

Drizzle with some melted chocolate if you like.  Just Sweetenuf!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Tracey says:

    The way you feel about colouring is how I feel about baking! So many precise measurements…I’m more a shade more of this and maybe a tinge of that. I might try these biscotti though. They look delicious and I know I would feel relaxed eating one (or two) with a nice latte. Thanks!

  2. MaryD55 says:

    okay these sound seriously mouth watering !!!!! Can’t wait to try some !!!!!

  3. chris says:

    I love a good biscotti recipe and this one looks delicious… a keeper! Thanks!

  4. Shona says:

    Love your biscotti but especially when you make it and I eat it!!!

    1. hofferbunch says:

      I can arrange that.

  5. Rhoda says:

    Lol good one! I just bought one of thoseColoring books for one of my clients who has extreme anxiety LOL. He loves it!

    Sincerely,

    Rhoda, OT

    >

  6. hofferbunch says:

    My kind of colouring book, with big pics of circus animals….

Leave a Reply

