Perfect Pulled Pork – Simple, Easy and Delicious


Delicious Flavourfull Pulled Pork!
Delicious Flavourfull Pulled Pork!

I know, I know, this doesn’t look like the usual items I post.  Where is the chocolate, the icing, the cake…well, I do have to eat real food occasionally and tonight’s dinner was a delicious pulled pork.

So simple, flavourful and easy I just had  share.  The most important ingredient in this recipe is your pork.  I’ve made this several times and the meat I purchased was marbled more with grisel than fat.  So after 2 somewhat failed attempts, the meat just wouldn’t shred up nicely, tonight’s pulled pork was a success. (Thank heaven or Pulled Pork was going to be out of my dinner rotation.)

So make the extra effort to purchase your pork shoulder at a butcher or your preferred meat seller..it is still an inexpensive purchase but can make huge difference in your finished product.  You need a 3-5 pound pork shoulder, a package of dried onion soup mix, 1 cup of chicken broth, 1/2 cup of your favourite BBQ sauce, 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, 3 tablespoons brown sugar and your slow cooker.  

Turn you slow cooker on and place your pork inside.  Mix all the other ingredients together and pour over meat.  Cover with the lid and let it cook 5-8 hours, depending on your slow cooker. I set mine at the lowest setting and cooked it for 8 hours.

Once done, remove pork to a large serving platter with a 1-2 inch lip and/or a large bowl and separate with 2 forks.  Slowly add in the liquid from slow cooker and another 1/4-1/2 cup BBQ sauce and a little hot sauce (if desired).  Serve on the freshest buns or crusty bread you can find.  You will not be disappointed.

Fabulous and definitely a favourite in my house.  I was asked to make it again as soon as the leftovers where gone and believe me that never happens.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Chris says:

    Had to read the headline twice to make sure it was from you! Thanks for sharing and the advice on the right type of pork to buy.

  2. Linda says:

    Well, I do have to eat ‘real food’ every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

