Butterscotch Pretzel Bars


 

It seems to me the number of “experts” in every single area of life is now the norm and these ‘experts’ seem to be growing at an amazing rate and after about 10 minutes of contemplation I think it is time I jumped on the bandwagon.

Once upon a time, back in the day, long ago, before Twitter, FB and the like, experts were groups of mysterious highly educated individuals (or so we were lead to believe) who conducted trials and experiments and gathered facts on an assortment of varying, relatively important subjects. Things like the safety of products, medical research, longevity studies, vitamin requirements for your child, etc., which were put into laymen’s terms and shared with the common man/woman, usually by newspaper or news radio (can you believe it!).

Fast forward to today and social media and the vast array of experts (no formal training required for many) on every topic under the sun. Food, travel, music, movies, pets, coffees, teas, craft beets, yoga, etc. etc., nothing is taboo.  If you have been following  my blog for a while you know I base my opinions on the minimal amount of research, lots of middle of the night thinking added to the most basic and minimal knowledge of Instagram; therefore, I believe I’m the perfect individual to start up a LIFESTYLE INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT!!

I too can take copious amounts of pictures of myself (once I figure out how to use my selfie stick), sunglasses on, sunglasses off, lips pursed outlined and filled in with the hot colour of the season, pictures in my underwear reflected in my bathroom mirror (OK, maybe not so much with the underwear), pictures of the shoes I’m wearing, the shoes I want to buy, me and my Bestie, the pedicure I had, the coffee I just bought, the dress in the store window, the couch I like in the latest home decor magazine…well, I think you get my drift.  I would then add a couple of varying comments and once I figure out the “emoji thingies” to enhance my captions, well, there would be no stopping me.  I am almost positive I could be a contender in this category.

Alas, it seems the selfie stick is far to complicated (remember I used to have a dial phone) and those “emoty thingies” are not co-operating so I’ll stick with my current hobby, baking and blogging, and yes, sharing the occasional comment or two.  So without further ado today’s no bake offering is from the Better Homes and Gardens Magazine, 100 Best Cookies, 2015 edition. No baking required and easy enough so the kids could help you whip this up.  I used praline peanuts  instead of plain peanuts and used crunchy peanut butter in place of smooth. To crush the pretzels I put them in a strong ziplock bag and smacked them with the bottom of a fry pan, which released some of my frustration with my selfie stick issue.  Crunchy, sweet and salty, these bars are a great combination of flavours.  Surely soon to be all over the Lifestyle Experts Instagram’s as the new “go-to” food, sometime, somewhere, somehow…

image

Butterscotch Pretzel Bars

Line a 13×9-inch baking pan with parchment or foil sprayed with cooking spray.

There are 3 easy parts to these bars, crust, filling and topping.

imageCrust:

1 1/2 cups icing sugar

1 cup creamy peanut butter

6 Tbsp melted butter

2 cups crushed pretzels

Combine the melted butter, peanut butter and icing sugar in a large bowl then stir in crushed pretzels.  Press onto the bottom of the prepared pan.

Filling:

1 – 11 oz package butterscotch flavour pieces

1/4 cup whipping cream

In a medium saucepan heat the butterscotch chips and cream over low heat stirring until the chips are melted and smooth.  Remove from heat and spread over crust.

image

Topping:

image1/2 cup coarsley crushed pretzels

1/2 cup chopped peanuts

Sprinkle the pretzels and peanuts over the top of the filling and press down lightly.

Cover and chill the bars until firm (at least 2 hours).  Lift cookies out of the pan and cut into bars.  Makes approximately 36.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shona says:

    Again another great blog. Keep it up Linda. I love reading these, you expert blogger you!!😜

  2. Linda says:

    Thanks Shona, hope you like the new layout! These bars are easy and best of all they are full of PB!

Leave a Reply

