Those Cookies…were the Best…


 

Those cookies you put in my lunch today were the best choc chip cookies I’ve ever had! Direct quote from my sweet birthday boy.  And NO, I don’t pack his lunch, but after baking up these beauties late last night I replaced the store bought cookies in his lunch with these thick and chewy peanut butter stuffed chocolate chip cookies.

Praise of my baking warms my heart and if you are the chief bottle washer and cook in your home I’m sure you can understand why.  It’s not often sweet words of favour are bestowed upon us.  More often than not we hear things like “It’s O.K.” “You know I don’t really like fish why do I have to eat it!” “Danny’s mom made this really awesome thing with ( insert whatever item you have been making forever they refuse to eat).

I would like to say I spent many an hour testing and creating this recipe but that would be a lie.  This is from Americas Test Kitchen and the only things I did differently was use peanut butter stuffed chocolate chips purchased on a recent trip to Florida plus put the dough in the fridge for about 10 minutes before using my large scoop to portion out the dough.  I just slightly flattened the dough before baking.

Unfortunately, I had room for only 1 measly bag of these particularly yummy stuffed chips. They were part of my 20 pounds, I kid you not, of food items I brought home.  Now the bag of pb/chocolaty goodness is gone so maybe chopped pb cups next time….

imageThick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preheat oven to 325F.  Parchment line 2 cookie sheets.

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup packed light brown sugar

3/4 cup unsalted butter, MELTED AND COOLED

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the sugars and melted butter with a mixer on medium speed until smooth, 1-2 minutes.  Beat in the egg, egg yolk and vanilla until combined, about 30 seconds.  Scrape down the bowl and beaters.

With the mixer on low add in the flour mixture slowly and mix until combined.  Stop mixer and fold in chocolate chips.

Portion about 2 tablespoons of dough into balls and place about 2 inches apart on prepared sheets.  Bake for about 15-20 minutes, until soft and puffy.  Remove from oven and cool.

ATK says these will keep for a few days if well wrapped but I don’t think they will last that long…after all they are the best!

Birthday Boy on Left….Boys (2)

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Shona says:

    You know I will have to make these!!! Happy Birthday to Robert !!!

Leave a Reply

