A Perfect Day Equals…Lemons?!


Today in Toronto was a sunny, cool Saturday.  Maybe nothing special to many of you but as I sipped a second coffee and gathered the ingredients for these tender lemony glazed muffins I thought about how it was shaping up to be a perfect day.

What makes your perfect day?  I think my perfect days can be many things and differ quite a bit now from 15 years ago or even 2 years ago, and even day to day.  When my boys were little and in school a perfect day would have been achieved if they had simply gotten out of bed, dressed, etc. and into the car without the usual refrain of “hurry up” and a vast amount of yelling (me to them) from the bottom of the stairs.  Being a sufferer of IBD, during a flare up  a perfect day was managing to get through it.  A few years ago a perfect day might have been a day when we were all home to sit down and eat dinner together.

Today’s perfect day is not rushing into work, knowing I can have another cup of coffee (even after hustling to yoga minus my 2nd cup) and baking.  That’s it.  It really doesn’t take much.  Some days are perfect because I have a chance to catch up with a friend and others because I can spend quiet time flopped on my couch watching PVR’d Real Housewives shows.

But really, the fact I can open my fridge and have at my fingertips all the food items I may need or ever want, plus turn on a faucet and have instant hot or cold water, and not have to walk an hour or more to get it and then carry a large filled container strapped on my back or balanced on my head back to my home, is in reality what makes my and many others lives perfect.  Not lecturing anyone.  Just reminding myself how good I’ve got it and to be thankful I can spend my perfect day baking something, taking some pictures, with my biggest worry being if anyone will look at my pics or try the recipe.  And if today this is my biggest challenge then WOW!

How these muffins came to be…let me try to explain my train of though…Lemon seems to be sunny to me, I guess oranges too.  Maybe because they need lots of warmth and sun to grow, so today’s sunny day makes me think of lemons, weekends makes me think of muffins and voila, look what I found.  A Lemon Cream Cheese Muffin with a Glaze and if you know me, well GLAZE or icing for that matter, just seals the deal.

Hopefully these will be perfect enough for you and you’ll let me know if you enjoy them and, maybe share what small thing can make your day better, if not perfect.

Glazed Lemon Cream Cheese Muffins

Lemon Cream Cheese Muffins

(From Canadian Living Holiday 2000 Issue)

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 ounces (or 1/2 of the 250 gram pkg)  Philadelphia Cream Cheese, cut into small bits, room temperature

1 large egg

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil (I used Safflower)

Rind of 1 small lemon

1 tbsp lemon juice

Glaze:  2 tbsp granulated sugar mixed with 2 tbsp lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease or line a 12-cup muffin tin.  Recipe makes approximately 9 muffins.

In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Add cream cheese.

Cream Cheese mixed with dry ingredients.(I used a fork and smeared the cream cheese in then used my fingertips and rubbed it through the flour.)

In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, oil, lemon rind and lemon juice.  Pour over the dry ingredients and stir just until combined (this takes maybe 1 minute or less).

Spoon batter into the prepared muffin cups and bake in centre of oven until tops are firm to the touch.  Remove from oven and while still warm spoon glaze on top of muffins.

IMG_20160430_182453927

Enjoy with your 2nd coffee or tea or because it may shape up to be a perfect day.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

