Maple Pecan Biscotti


Maple Delight!

It is the May long weekend here in Canada, with Monday being better known as “Fire Cracker Day”, at least that’s what I remember. Otherwise it’s fondly referred to as the May ‘two four’ weekend (as it falls around the 24th of May and all the 19+ kids seem to suddenly have an interest in camping which I believe is directly linked to their desire to drink ‘two fours’ of beer)!

Since I am quite a bit past the teen camping days (OK, truth be told, I never was a camping, beer drinking teen), and my boys are beyond the “Fire Cracker” day where the piece de resistance was watching the school house burn at then end of the fireworks display, I am left to entertain myself and bake items using truly Canadian products like  maple syrup and maple sugar! Maple Sugar

YAHOO!!!  With children in there 20’s comes much freedom (well sometimes).  My wild time on my own, as you know, is spent doing exciting things like coffee drinking, baking and excessive purchasing of baking books and magazines. All of which can be done in ones pj’s from the couch on a lazy Victoria Day weekend.  Life is sweet!

Who knew such enjoyment was so simple and uncomplicated.  Last weekend I went to a place I said I would never go again (ever, ever, ever)…a high school reunion.  Any reference to high school days normally starts me sweating and I thank God those days are OVER, but I did attend (thanks to Agnes….photo below) and had fun with a few of the ‘girls’.  Interestingly enough it seems we all had some bad experiences and were all bullied by different people in different ways, which just goes to show most of us probably think we are the only ones who are “not in the cool, popular crowd”.  (Is it petty of me to think many of the ‘cool popular kids’ hadn’t aged so well?)  If anyone had ever told me in high school I’d be content and happy in a kitchen surrounded by sugar and flour I’d have thought they were crazy. But life doesn’t seem to turn out how you thought in high school (which in many ways is probably a good thing!).

Nice photo of Linda P, Agnes F and myself and photo on left is what happens when you leave your phone unattended with middle aged women…Linda P, Agnes F, Joanne R.

This weeks satisfaction came from baking up these Maple Pecan Biscotti.Maple Pecan Biscotti  Another delicious recipe from Ricardo’s Best Cookie Magazine.  I would double this since these delicious maple treats won’t last long.

Maple Pecan Biscotti

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and preheat oven to 350F.  You will need a food processor for this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

2/3 cup Maple Sugar (divided)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup COLD unsalted butter

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup toasted pecans

Milk or Cream for brushing

Method:

In a food processor combine the flour, 1/2 cup of the maple sugar and the baking powder. Add in the butter and pulse until mixture is crumbly looking.  Dump mixture into a bowl and stir in the lightly beaten egg and the vanilla.  Use your hands to mix in the pecans.

I find it easier to put dough onto the parchment lined baking sheet to shape into a 12-inch log and then flatten with the heel of my hand.  You may wish to shape and flatten on a floured surface and then move to the baking sheet.

Maple Delight!Bake for approximately 30 minutes until nice golden brown.  Remove from oven and let cool for about 15 minutes.   Brush with a little milk or cream and sprinkle with remaining maple sugar.  Slice into 1-inch pieces and spread apart a little on baking sheet.  Pop back in the oven for about 10-15 minutes depending on how ‘dry’ you prefer them.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

