Keep or Weep?!


Friday was a ‘Weep’…if you have been following my blog for any length of time you would know I do watch a bit (or a lot) of reality t.v.  Of late, I have been tuning into the renovation shows, you know Love It or List It, Flip or Flop, that type of thing.

They have the same premise…after several “uh oh” have we made a mistake taking on this flip due to the unforseen problems arising, sure as the sun sets in the west, the end result is a beauty.

This is not quite the same with home baking.  Sometimes a flop is still tasty while looking unappealing but most times a flop is unedible or bland or unpalatable with not a beauty in sight!

After 2 fails baking up 2 different biscotti this week I thought I should rename my blog Love it or Lump It; Bake It or Banish It or my fav so far, Keep or Weep!

Weep I did after the pumpkin biscotti blew up like a loaf of proofed bread while baking and in the end was heavy and dense and lacking in flavour.  Next up, Toffee Mocha Biscotti, suggested to me by my friend Adrienne.  Heck, she even made sure to send me a recipe just in case I was in the mood to bake.  Instead of following the recipe sent I thought I’d modify one of my favourite biscotti recipes and add in some espresso powder and the toffee and chocolate bits.  Instead of baking up per usual it flattened out like a pancake and although still tasty was pretty much a giant crispy cookie requiring only 1 bake!

Hungry for a delicious biscotti guaranteed not to fail you?  Check out one of my prior biscotti’s such as my May 21st post for Maple Pecan Biscotti or delicious Chocolate Toffee Biscotti from last August 22 (’15).  They are ‘Keeps’ not Weeps for sure.

image
Chocolate Toffee Biscotti

Tune in next week for another exciting episode of ‘Keep or Weep’.  I’m hoping for a Keep Week.  Happy Simcoe Day!

Leave a Reply

