Quick Cheese Biscuits


cheesy-biscuitsThis incredibly easy recipe is a hit! No need to knead with these cheesy biscuits. Super simple and dropped from a 1/4 cup measure onto a cookie sheet, it doesn’t get any easier to make biscuits than with this recipe.

I have been told it mimics the Red Lobster biscuits and when I baked these for a staff function almost everyone asked where they could ‘buy’ them.

I’m a little late to post this recipe as I promised last week but my sister, niece and I spent a few days in N.Y.  My main goal while in N.Y. (well maybe second after hitting the shoe floor at Macy’s) was to find as many New York bakeries as possible. I consider vacation (whether it is short or long) to be a sugar free-for-all.  Probably not a healthy way to vacation but I did manage to visit Bouchon Bakery, Buttercup Bakery, Fat Witch Bakery, Eleni’s Bakey, Sarabeth’s (where they filmed the ‘croissant’ scene in the movie It’s Complicated) and Magnolia.  Luckily the Naked Cowboy picked me up and proposed to me prior to all my sampling!!

Although I was swayed by his hollow guitar filled with $5 bills I just couldn’t abandon my duties as a blogger to be just another notch on his tightie whities!  He did write his phone number on my postcard just in case I changed my mind and decided to come back to him.

OK, back to the biscuits!  You can adjust the size of these scrumptious biscuits to larger or smaller just adjust your baking time.

Quick Cheese Biscuits

Preheat oven to 425F.  Parchment line or grease a large baking sheet.

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

4 tsp baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon dried parsley

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 cup, cold butter, cubed

1 cup shredded old cheddar cheese

1 cup milk

Method:

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, parsley, salt and garlic powder.

Using a pastry blender or 2 knives and cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Add cheese and milk.  Mix with a fork until a ragged moist dough forms.

Drop by 1/4 cupfuls onto prepared baking sheet about 2 inches apart.

Bake in centre of oven until lightly browned, about 13-15 minutes.

linda-and-cheese-biscuits

 

Quick Cheese Biscuits complete! Although it looks like I somehow lost the battle with the flour…

Leave a Reply

